The UNIL in the 21st century

2018

This year has provided an opportunity to increase interactions between UNIL and its environment, in particular the local community in Vaud. Numerous relationships have been built with the public authorities, the justice system, businesses and specialists in areas ranging from urban issues to mountains, social relationships, health and culture. One of these initiatives, the Interact project, has been designed as a coordinated collaboration between the city and the University of Lausanne.

As a result, UNIL is enhancing the opportunities available to its students to work on concrete projects from an academic perspective, and is committed to making academic knowledge available to anyone with an interest in the field concerned.

Accordingly, the Rectorate has created several interdisciplinary centres to stimulate cross-disciplinary research in areas that are directly relevant to societal concerns, from LIVES on life courses and vulnerabilities, to the Centre on Sustainability (which is continuing the work of the Volteface platform) to the Centre for Mountain Research, at the UNIL site in Bramois (Valais). These are enhanced by two existing platforms, now known respectively as the Interdisciplinary Centre for Sports Research and the Interdisciplinary Centre for Ethics Research.

Now more than ever, UNIL is asserting its commitment to the region in the broad sense of the term, and its capacity to provide academic expertise to support public debate and actions.

2017

The Nobel Prize for Chemistry awarded to Professor Jacques Dubochet undoubtedly set the tone for a year characterised by excellence. Other prizes were added to UNIL’s record of achievements, for example, the Kurt Lewin Medal of the European Association of Social Psychology, which recognised the career of Professor Fabrizio Butera.

Another highlight was the celebration of the 30th anniversary of the Anthropole building (previously known as BFSH2), which was the venue for the 12th Mystères de l'UNIL event, on the theme of memory. Numerous developments and events were associated with the celebration throughout the year.

A number of now unmissable events were run again this year, including the Printemps de la Poésie spring poetry event created in 2016 by Professor Antonio Rodriguez, and the Lausanne final of the competition "Ma thèse en 180 secondes” (“My thesis in 180 seconds”), which was won this year by archaeologist Pauline Maillard. The need for energy transition was reflected in the 12 action-research projects presented as part of the Volteface platform, which has been dedicated to the social aspects of transition since its creation in 2014.

Inaugurated in 2017, in response to the specific needs of young researchers and demand from employers, the "Graduate Campus" has helped to strengthen the support offered by UNIL to its PhD students and post-doctoral researchers.

2016

One of this year's key events was the appointment of Nouria Hernandez to the post of Rector by the Council of State. The new Rectorate's first few months were taken up by drafting the new strategic plan for the five-year period 2017-2021. The document was drafted by the Rectorate team, in consultation with UNIL's faculties, departments and Council.

The strategic plan (in french) sets out six issues for UNIL:

  1. the specific nature of university teaching
  2. international-level research in all academic fields
  3. the development of Lausanne's academic community
  4. UNIL's position in the Swiss academic landscape
  5. UNIL's social integration
  6. developing and transforming the campus

In 2016, UNIL launched the first Spring of Poetry in Dorigny, at CHUV and elsewhere in French-speaking Switzerland, following several similar events around the world. It also named the second winner in the history of its Sculpture Triennale, Lausanne resident Victor Auslander. The theme of the 11th Mystères de l'UNIL open day was the city and involved over 300 researchers in examining the physical, historical, psychic and virtual realities of city life.

Follow us:          

UNIL in the 21st century

Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 11 11
Fax +41 21 692 26 15

L'UNIL au 21e siècle

2018

Cette année a permis d'accroître les interactions entre l'UNIL et son environnement, la collectivité vaudoise en particulier. De nombreux liens ont été tissés avec des administrations publiques, des acteurs de la justice, des entreprises, des spécialistes de la ville, de la montagne, du lien social, de la santé et de la culture. Au nombre de ces initiatives, le projet Interact a été conçu comme une collaboration coordonnée entre la Ville et l'Université de Lausanne.

L'UNIL renforce ainsi la possibilité pour ses étudiantes et étudiants de travailler dans une perspective scientifique sur des terrains concrets et veut placer les savoirs académiques à la disposition de toutes les personnes intéressées.

Dans cet esprit, la Direction a créé plusieurs centres interdisciplinaires pour stimuler une recherche transversale en prise directe avec des préoccupations sociétales, que ce soit LIVES sur les parcours de vie et les vulnérabilités, le Centre de la durabilité (qui poursuit la démarche de la plateforme Volteface) ou encore le Centre de recherche sur la montagne, sur le site de l'UNIL à Bramois (Valais). Une palette enrichie de deux plateformes préexistantes, désormais nommées Centre interdisciplinaire de recherche sur le sport, respectivement en éthique.

Plus que jamais, l'UNIL affirme son inscription dans le territoire au sens large et sa capacité de fournir une expertise scientifique pour alimenter des réflexions et des actions publiques.

2017

Le Prix Nobel de chimie décerné au professeur Jacques Dubochet a incontestablement donné le ton à une année placée sous le signe de l'excellence. D'autres prix sont venus enrichir le palmarès de l'UNIL comme, par exemple, la médaille Kurt Lewin de l'Association européenne de psychologie sociale, qui a récompensé la carrière du professeur Fabrizio Butera.

Autre temps fort, la célébration des 30 ans du bâtiment Anthropole (connu des anciens sous le sigle BFSH2), au sein duquel s'est déroulée la douzième édition des Mystères de l'UNIL, sur le thème de la mémoire. De multiples réalisations et de nombreux événements ont été associés tout au long de l'année à cette célébration.

Des rendez-vous désormais incontournables se sont répétés comme le Printemps de la Poésie, créé en 2016 par le professeur Antonio Rodriguez, et la finale lausannoise du concours "Ma thèse en 180 secondes", remportée cette année par l'archéologue Pauline Maillard. La nécessité de la transition énergétique a été rappelée par les douze projets de recherche-action présentés dans le cadre de la plateforme Volteface, dédiée depuis sa création en 2014 aux aspects sociaux de cette transition.

Inauguré en 2017, à l'écoute des besoins spécifiques des jeunes chercheuses et jeunes chercheurs ainsi que des exigences des employeurs, le "Graduate Campus" est venu renforcer le soutien offert par l'UNIL à celles et ceux qui effectuent en son sein un doctorat ou post-doctorat.

2016

L'année est marquée par l'entrée en fonctions de Nouria Hernandez, désignée au poste de Rectrice par le Conseil d'Etat. Les premiers mois de la nouvelle Direction ont été employés à la rédaction du plan d'intentions qui sert à définir la stratégie pour le quinquennat 2017-2021. Ce document a été élaboré par l'équipe de la Direction, en concertation avec les facultés, les services et le Conseil de l'UNIL.

Ce plan d'intentions identifie six enjeux pour l'UNIL:

  1. la spécificité de l'enseignement universitaire
  2. une recherche de niveau international dans tous les domaines scientifiques
  3. le développement de la place scientifique lausannoise
  4. le positionnement de l'UNIL dans le paysage académique suisse
  5. l'intégration de l'UNIL dans la société
  6. le développement et la transformation du campus

En 2016, l'UNIL a lancé le premier Printemps de la poésie à Dorigny, au CHUV et ailleurs en Suisse romande, dans le sillage de plusieurs manifestations de ce type à travers le monde. Elle a également désigné le deuxième lauréat dans l'histoire de sa Triennale de sculptures: le Lausannois Victor Auslander. Le thème de la onzième édition Mystères de l'UNIL a porté sur la Ville et mobilisé plus de 300 chercheurs autour des réalités physiques, historiques, psychiques et virtuelles de la vie dans les cités.

Suivez nous:            

L'UNIL au 21e siècle

Partagez:
Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 11 11
Fax +41 21 692 26 15